Entries for this giveaway are now closed.
You can still enter our active giveaways
.

The winner of this giveaway is commenter #85, Claire, who said: ”I love making things all the time and I can always do with new ideas. There isn’t a day go by with out me making something. To own this book would be great, I love the parrot, do hope I can win, thanks for this chance.” 

Congratulations, Claire!!

 

Newly released Heart-Felt Holidays takes you through a year of felt crafting with 40 projects to make celebrate the holidays and changing seasons.  The book is brought to you by Kathy Sheldon and Amanda Carestio, authors of Fa La La La Felt.

Within the book are the templates and full instructions you need to make a wide range of projects, from felt mustaches to birthday crowns, Valentine brooches to Autumn table runners.  And then there are felt wine bags (no-sew), an adorable groundhog phone case, a felt slice of pumpkin pie, and a mistletoe kissing ball, and more.

Most of the projects fall into the “very easy” category, using basic hand stitching or machine sewing techniques.  They’re all relatively quick to make, which seems appropriate given how busy our holiday preparations can be.  Make them for yourself, or give them as small holiday gifties to friends and family.

Honestly, I thought all of the projects were super cute.  But if I had to pull out some of my favorites, they’d be:

Bunny Pal

This little felt  bunny sits on a table (or mantel, or bookcase) with his arms wrapped around a colorful felt egg. His fluffy tail is a large yarn pom pom.  His picture appears on the cover of the book, and gives me a silent “awww….” moment every time I see it.

April Showers

What is more perfect on a gray, rainy day than a bright, happy umbrella?  Simple shapes framed in embroidery hoops make an eye-catching and cheerful wall display.

Seeing Shadows Phone Case

I already mentioned this project in the paragraphs above, but it really needs a photo to show how incredible cute it is.  Look at his little ears!  And that sweet little groundhog face!

Yo Ho Ho Pirate Parrot and Eyepatch

Wear a felt eyepatch and pin an oversize felt parrot to your shoulder, and you’ve got an awesome pirate costume.  Wear it on Halloween, or on Talk Like a Pirate Day.

Bat Costume

Another cute costume made from felt!  This one is a felt bat mask and a set of felt wings stitched to a long-sleeved shirt.  According to my daughter (8 years old), it could also be easily adapted to make her a flying squirrel costume.

.

.

NOW FOR THE GIVEAWAY!!!

I’ve got a copy of this book to give away to one lucky reader.  To get yourself entered into the giveaway, just leave me a comment here telling me your favorite holiday for crafting.  I’ll choose one comment at random as the winner.  Giveaway closes at midnight CST on Monday, April 23, 2012.

Good luck!

By Anne Weaver

Have you entered all our giveaways?




Comments

93 Comments so far

  1. MelodyJ on April 16, 2012 8:21 am

    I love to paint glass ornaments for Christmas. Also, I like to bake for most holidays.

    melodyj(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Kathrynn on April 16, 2012 8:34 am

    I love making ornaments for Christmas and decorations for Easter.

  3. Aileen Bell on April 16, 2012 9:11 am

    Christmas, hands down. I can work on Christmas stuff all year long. Thanks! aileenbell@cox.net

  4. Stephanie E on April 16, 2012 9:16 am

    Halloween decorating is the most fun in my opinion.

  5. Connie @ Daydream In Color on April 16, 2012 9:25 am

    It’s definitely Christmas for me! I love adding little handmade touches to my gifts or even making a bunch of fun goodies for my friends/coworkers.

  6. Hadiyah on April 16, 2012 9:46 am

    FOr me, Halloween is the best holiday for crafting/decorating.

  7. Kimberly on April 16, 2012 10:07 am

    No question, Christmas! I specialize in making ornaments and love to give them as gifts.

  8. Hueisei on April 16, 2012 10:09 am

    Christmas!! I loved it …..
    Thanks for the chance to win!

  9. leah on April 16, 2012 10:09 am

    i love making crafts on Christmas!

  10. Genevieve on April 16, 2012 10:12 am

    My mom started her own holiday for the first day of Spring. We called it Everybody Birthday Day. On this day she would decorate the house with decorations weade just as if it was one of our birthdays. Since we were not only celebrating the people in our family, we were also celebrating the plants and creatures outside, the decorations were mismatched but beautiful in our eyes. We would also make gifts for each other, dog treats for our dog, bird treats to hang on the trees , add bows to bushes, etc. I still celebrate Everybody Birthday Day with my own children.

  11. Rachael on April 16, 2012 10:23 am

    I love Valentines day for crafting – great way to be thoughtful and give gifts really from the heart with all the care and consideration that comes from making something.

  12. angie chappell on April 16, 2012 11:02 am

    i love christmas but also love when Im doing a project and im finish it and out of the boo can hand them the quilt and make their day and mine

  13. Niki Roka on April 16, 2012 12:06 pm

    My favourite holiday for crafting is Christmas. Last two years I’m sewing tree ornaments for decoration, and I love them. Once it’ll worth a lot for my grandchildren hopefully ;) Also I love making sweet things for my little son who is 7 months old. He loves the handmade crafts I make :)

  14. lee on April 16, 2012 12:19 pm

    I love crafting for Halloween! thanks!

  15. Dororthee on April 16, 2012 12:57 pm

    Since I really love Christmas, I enjoy crafting for it very much! :)

  16. Nancy on April 16, 2012 2:54 pm

    I love crafting for the Autumn! It has to be my most favorite time of the year!

  17. Larissa` on April 16, 2012 3:38 pm

    I like the winter holidays (Chanukah/Christmas) when I make stuff for the nephews!

  18. Carla G on April 16, 2012 3:48 pm

    I like making handmade gifts for Christmas. :) This book looks great. Thanks for a chance to win!

  19. heather on April 16, 2012 4:51 pm

    I love easter and making my kids easter bonnets.
    (\(\
    ( =’:')—???easter bunny???
    (.(“)(“)???

  20. Barb M on April 16, 2012 5:56 pm

    Christmas – hands down!
    Thanks

  21. mary fanara coleman on April 16, 2012 6:00 pm

    My favorite Holiday for crafting is Halloween.

  22. sue on April 16, 2012 6:14 pm

    I love crafting all year round, but if I have to choose one, it’s Christmas. I love making ornaments for my friends.
    Thanks for the great giveaway!

  23. Kelly on April 16, 2012 9:12 pm

    Hands down it has to be Halloween, I LOVE creepy stuff…lol

  24. Joyce on April 17, 2012 12:09 am

    My favourite time for crafting is summer, because that’s when I have the most time on my hands to craft.

  25. Siaron on April 17, 2012 12:41 am

    Every season/ holiday is different. I love Christmas crafting for inside the house and for making gifts but also love Easter/spring crafting for making things for outdoor living and getting ready for the summer when the children have more time to do their own craft projects.

  26. Ofelia on April 17, 2012 12:54 am

    Christmas!! it’s always Christmas…felt ornaments, crochet ornaments…I love it!
    Thank you for the giveaway.

  27. Linda Rumsey on April 17, 2012 2:54 am

    Birthdays – crafting can be completely different for each one!

  28. Terri Aden on April 17, 2012 2:54 am

    My favorite holiday to get crafty with is Halloween1 I love making costumes for my grandson, and making quirky things to decorate with.

  29. Beverly on April 17, 2012 3:49 am

    Having been born on Feb. 14th, I guess that has to be mt favorite.

  30. Linda Kennedy on April 17, 2012 3:50 am

    I love making the (big) kids and the grand-kids halloween costumes. The more over-the-top, the more fun.

  31. Anne Marie on April 17, 2012 4:22 am

    I love Christmas and love to make Christmas ornaments.

  32. Mandy L. on April 17, 2012 4:58 am

    Definetly Christmas, but also Halloween!

  33. Connie on April 17, 2012 5:17 am

    Halloween! I have more spooky fabrics than any other kind in my stash.

  34. Salome on April 17, 2012 5:18 am

    Just made fabulous Easter eggs with my sister! and sew a beautiful basket to go with it!! LOVE EASTER and egg decoration!

  35. Judith R. on April 17, 2012 5:20 am

    I love making Halloween costumes for children. I once even made a one-size-fits-all bunches-of-grapes costume (one bunch of grapes for the front and one bunch for the back) with felt green-leaves necklaces and bracelets.

  36. Victoria on April 17, 2012 5:23 am

    Christmas. Christmas 2011 I decided to have a DIY tree and we made all the ornaments. I got my 3 year old involved with coloring pictures and I would cut them out in the shape of a christmas theme (snowman, gingerbread man, star, etc.).I plan to do that for christmas 2012 too.

  37. Chris on April 17, 2012 5:41 am

    I love crafting for birthdays. I get to do so many things for both genders and different interests. Whenever someone’s interests change, I get to learn about a new subject matter while finding ideas for crafts.

  38. Karen B. on April 17, 2012 5:42 am

    I like Halloween because I like finding ideas that make Halloween fun but not too scary —-it is for the kids in all of us, after all :)

  39. Gil Crews on April 17, 2012 5:56 am

    Halloween is my #1 fav…with Christmas being a close 2nd.

  40. Sandra V on April 17, 2012 6:07 am

    Would be a tie between Halloween and Christmas

  41. CathyH on April 17, 2012 6:21 am

    My favorite crafting holiday is Christmas, and Halloween is fun too!

  42. Theresa on April 17, 2012 6:44 am

    Christmas,is my favorite also! I give an oranament a year to all our family & friends & always have some on hand for when some one “new” stops by! So we love Christmas espically withe making gifts withe the children,Thanx for the Giveaway! :)

    businesslady711@hotmail.com

  43. linda on April 17, 2012 6:51 am

    use to be Christmas but now it’s flowers

  44. Missy K. on April 17, 2012 7:13 am

    I love crafting for Halloween. There are so many cool things to do.

  45. Leah on April 17, 2012 7:36 am

    I love any holiday for an excuse for crafting, but I probably do the most at Christmas time. I already have “Fa La La La Felt” so I’m SURE I would love this new book!

  46. Mary Mac on April 17, 2012 7:46 am

    Oh thats easy one. Christmas, I start crafting during the summer to make sure I am ready.

  47. Vickee DeLadurantey on April 17, 2012 7:50 am

    I love Halloween. It is my favorite Holiday to make decorations, edibles, and costumes. I also love crafting for my granddaughter. Felt food, felt buddies and anything I think she would like to play with.

  48. Michele T on April 17, 2012 8:35 am

    I most enjoy crafting at Christmas time. This books looks awesome – thanks for the chance!!

  49. wendy on April 17, 2012 8:41 am

    Although I love bunnies, the only holiday I craft for is Christmas. Valentines and Halloween aren’t such a big deal over here, we dont’ have 4th July or Thanksgiving, obviously! I don’t celebrate easter as I’m not religious, so that just leaves Christmas!

  50. Claire on April 17, 2012 8:48 am

    I’m not just following the crowd but, it’s Christmas. I like to make lots of stocking fillers, and they are not just for my Grandchildren!!

  51. Diane on April 17, 2012 9:18 am

    I don’t need a reason for crafting – it’s just something I have to do! But, I do get the most inspiration when it comes to Christmas. Easter is a close second – so many cute things!

  52. Papgena on April 17, 2012 9:44 am

    Christmas no doubt! But I like to make personal gifts for birthdays also!!

  53. Sallianne on April 17, 2012 9:49 am

    Love making bunnies! I make them for every season. The book looks so wonderful! Pick me! Pick me!

  54. Tabitha on April 17, 2012 10:00 am

    Halloween is the bomb! Christmas should be Halloween themed (with gifts, of course).

  55. Hannah on April 17, 2012 10:05 am

    Christmas is my personal favorite holiday for decorating. (:

  56. Jowyn Jenson on April 17, 2012 11:03 am

    My favourite holiday for crafting is Valentine’s Day. Great opportunity to show how much you love someone and I love heart shapes and flowers and the colour red. Thanks for the giveaway.

  57. Janet S. on April 17, 2012 11:47 am

    Christmas is my favourite, followed closely by Halloween and Easter. Thanks for the chance to win.

    Janet

  58. Candy on April 17, 2012 11:55 am

    I love to craft for Christmas. It enjoy making handmade ornaments (sometimes out of felt) for the tree. Would love winning this lovely book!

  59. Laurie Anne on April 17, 2012 12:04 pm

    Valentines and Halloween are my favourites…I love crafting for those holidays!

  60. lynn on April 17, 2012 12:27 pm

    christmas and easter are my tip picks. thanks for the giveaway!

  61. Dhonna on April 17, 2012 1:09 pm

    hearts for valentines!

  62. lyn lewis on April 17, 2012 2:38 pm

    I just love to craft………all the time!

  63. Ellen on April 17, 2012 2:57 pm

    I don’t get to craft much these days but I do make the time for birthdays – I love crafting special cards for my family and friends and personal gifts to go with the cards.

  64. Diann Cornell on April 17, 2012 3:02 pm

    I most enjoy making projects for Christmas.

  65. Robyn on April 17, 2012 3:15 pm

    definitely Christmas -it inspires me than any other holiday!

  66. Pepper on April 17, 2012 3:18 pm

    Summer!!!!
    Picnics! BBQ! Longer evenings outside by the poolwith family and friends. Happy, bright, and fun!!

  67. Ellen on April 17, 2012 3:28 pm

    See above

  68. Carlie on April 17, 2012 3:50 pm

    I seem to do more Halloween but I love decorating and crafting for all the holidays!

  69. Shannon A on April 17, 2012 4:42 pm

    Valentines Day! Thanks, mamatkins@Hotmail.com

  70. Deb (Two Cheeky Monkeys) on April 17, 2012 5:02 pm

    Oooh, what a cute book! My favourite holiday for crafting is definitely Christmas. :)

  71. Emily C on April 17, 2012 6:13 pm

    My favorite is always christmas. I always make my gifts so i prepare months in advance.

  72. Sissy on April 17, 2012 7:48 pm

    Christmas! Thank You

  73. superstitches on April 17, 2012 10:40 pm

    I love making spring time crafts, so Easter is my favorite. I always make cute stuffed animals for baskets and this years we made paper mache eggs. Way too much fun.

  74. ellen lai on April 18, 2012 3:59 am

    My favourite is Christmas and Teachers’ Day!

  75. Deb Heffner on April 18, 2012 6:02 am

    My favorite holiday for crafting is Christmas…..I make lots of handmade gifts.

  76. Lubaska on April 18, 2012 10:34 am

    I love crafting before Easter – eggs and decorating of branches.:-)

  77. Lindsay on April 18, 2012 11:59 am

    I love crafting for Christmas, but it’s such a busy time of year! I think Valentine’s can be fun, too.

  78. Dona Reynolds on April 18, 2012 7:21 pm

    Because I sew for the children’s hospital, I love all the holidays but especially Halloween – so many cute and scary things to make.

  79. Wendy Hatton on April 19, 2012 12:22 am

    Any school holiday for me. Then my grand children are about and love dipping into my craft supplies.

  80. Paraskevi on April 19, 2012 3:37 am

    Valentine’s Day is a perfect occasion for crafting!

  81. Gill on April 19, 2012 12:53 pm

    Definitely Christmas! but I never start early enough!!

  82. Jessica P on April 19, 2012 5:09 pm

    Totally Christmas, I like to ,ake at least one thing for everyone!

  83. Brenda J. Moore on April 20, 2012 4:04 pm

    I’ve always had a soft spot for that most colourful of STAT holidays…Halloween. Love seeing small kids waddle around in bulky costumes trying to say the words “Trick or Treat” and coming up with “Twick or tweet.”

  84. Hinterland Mama on April 20, 2012 10:17 pm

    I love easter!
    Egg dyeing & sewing felt animals. Maybe knitting too.
    And all of our birthdays are around Easter time. So lots of smiles and celebration ?

  85. Jennifer on April 21, 2012 6:55 am

    Always looking for more holiday ideas!! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  86. Claire on April 21, 2012 7:18 am

    I love making things all the time and I can always do with new ideas. There isn’t a day go by with out me making something. To own this book would be great, I love the parrot, do hope I can win, thanks for this chance.

  87. Kathy H on April 21, 2012 9:01 am

    My absolute favorite holiday for crafting is Christmas. I especially love to do ornaments as sweet little gifts for my co-workers and neighbors. They usually work up quickly so you feel like you’ve really accomplished something quickly. I always make something handmade for everyone on my gift list. I feel like I’m giving them a little piece of my heart! Be especially blessed, Kathy

  88. Muireann on April 21, 2012 10:32 am

    Although Halloween is my favorite holiday, I love making ornaments and decorations for Christmas. Thanks for the chance to win!

  89. H.alda on April 21, 2012 8:25 pm

    Valentines day is definitely the holiday I enjoy crafting for. Hearts, glitter and construction paper all the way!

  90. Paula Wirfel on April 22, 2012 1:40 pm

    It’s hard to choose, but I’d say Christmas is my favorite, but Halloween runs a close second!

  91. Carmen on April 22, 2012 6:48 pm

    The only holiday I ever craft for is Christmas, so I guess that’s my favorite.

  92. Debbie on April 23, 2012 3:44 pm

    I love crafting for all holidays but my favorite would be Fall – encompassing Halloween and Thanksgiving.

  93. Who will be getting a copy of Heart-Felt Holidays? · Sewing | CraftGossip.com on April 24, 2012 5:52 pm

    [...] week I posted a review of Heart-Felt Holidays and had a copy to give away to one lucky reader.  I’m back tonight to [...]

Name (required)

Email (required) - but not published

Website

Speak your mind, and then click submit comment





    Sponsors














Follow on Bloglovin

follow us in feedly